top of page

Absolute Bliss

Absolute Bliss

"I think the most important thing a woman can have - next to her talent, of course- is her hairdresser."

Life can be enduring and beautiful, especially with a good hairstyle. When I moved to France, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to try something new and boy was I ready for a change! In most countries colouring your hair lighter is no problem, however in France you proceed with caution. Damaging hair is a no go. First you receive a "glad-wrap" crown instead of a tinfoil cap, which is supposedly less damaging for your locks. Sounds like a good start to me.

My first visit to the salon was a very interesting experience. I realised that “au naturel” is the way to go. Change is good, but it's better over time. Just like all things in nature - they take their sweet time to perfect their works of art. After four hours, three espresso's and no WiFi, I was happy with my decision to try something new. As they say, "there is a first time for everything". Time and time again, I have been reminded of this whilst living in the South of France.

I marvel at the women’s self confidence and I’m sure their silky, shiny hair has something to do with it. French braid it, French twist it and French roll it up, these are a few stylish and inventive ways of ruling out those irritating, yet so often self defeating, bad hair days.

The amount of “Coiffures” in Montpellier is astonishing. There are 90 listed salons in Montpellier alone, not to mention the salons in the nearby villages within the Languedoc Roussillon area. Now that Sounds like a lot of hair to me.

I recently visited my French hairdresser in search of some tips on “How to have great hair like the French women?”

This is what she said:

M: What type of hairstyles do your customers prefer?

P: Most of my customers ask for a wavy Long bob, called the "Lob". a Style that is also very popular whether young or old is a short “undercut” hairstyle. Which resembles a pixie hairstyle.

M: How do the hairstyles differ from winter to summer?

P: In summer we do more highlighting, but not too much seeing as hair lightens over time with the sun. Treatments are a must when highlighting is involved. Ombre is still recommended, but applied very naturally.

M: What do you recommend for your clients?

P: Hairstyles that last long, because most women's excuses are time and money. Shiny and healthy hair, that fits her faceshape and skintone.

There you go – from the mouth of the beautiful French Hairstylist herself - natural, long lasting, well treated hair, along with the fabulous French hair styles is the best way to beat around those bad hair days and boost your confidence as a gorgeous woman. So what are you waiting for?!

My French hardresser, Pascal and I.

Where the magic happens, visit their facebook page.

The type of products that her clients prefer.

Carita is a very well known French Brand. The first salon was founded in 1945 in Faubourg Saint Honore. They provide products for face, body and hair.

Revlon Uniq one shampoo and Conditioning treatment

Ghd hair protectant

Orofluido hair protectant

Bed head

The hairstyles

The "Lob"

The "undercut"

French roll it

Get the tutorial from Hair romance

French twist it

Get the tutorial from The Granish boutique

French braid it

Get the tutorial from Bows and Belles

My hair transformation

bottom of page