top of page

À la mode

"Style is a way of saying who you are without having to speak" Rachel Zoe

We all want a style that will reflect our personalities. A style that will tell the people around us a little more about who we are without saying a word. It would be a dream to have the perfect outfit for every occasion. However - is it really possible? For some of us, the "Plain Janes" and housewives, the glamorous fashion life does not make it to our priority list. But does that mean that we do not want to look good?

If you are anything like me and you love shopping, it can be a challenge living in a country where the language barrier is a constant struggle. My favourite time passing activity had become a nightmare. I admit to being a bit of a “shopaholic”, here it's a bit more difficult to say the least. The sad reality is that we don't always have the time to make the necessary effort that will help us feel and look good. We put our needs ,wants and fashion sense aside. Thinking about what we are going to wear is, at times, just too much work. If you can relate, I am here to tell you not to despair, you are not alone.

When I just moved here, I had three pairs of jeans and a few basic items. One suitcase didn’t allow me room to pack in for more that a week and a half’s worth of outfits. Little did I know about the “black” dress code. It took me a while to catch on to the style preferences. Minimal and quality clothing. Designer items in forms of sunglasses and handbags. Micheal Kors is making a killing!

Still, after more than a year, I get those “I have nothing in my closet to wear” days. However, a pair of leggings and a top does the trick. Personal style evolution does take time. It takes risks and research. Staying up to date with what is in fashion, but also fiting it all in to your personality. I have tried numerous times to dress like someone else and it does not work. Getting frustrated is good, because it forces you to figure out what your dress personality is. Romantic, dramatic or classic.

Lucky for us, there is online shopping. With a click of a button you can get the look that you want. With the washing in the machine and you comfortably resting in you PJ's, getting the desired look has become fairly easy.

"Online shopping has moved from geeky to mainstream in just 10 years. Almost 50 percent of Americans shop online and 88 percent of that number have bought something online in the last six months. As a result, profits for online merchants now average more than $34 billion a year, up 500 percent from 1999."

Great online stores to check out is: Asos, Next, Topshop, Miss selfridge,

Having said that, what should be on your new online winter wish list?

I got the idea to have a fashion shoot with one of my good friends. She has an edgy style that reflects a mixture of both worlds, French and foreign. After you get the tingles from my winter shoot - get the look from Asos.

Whats in stores?

Get the look from Asos

Ripped jeans

Black Skinny jeans

Oversized printed cardigans

The leather jacket

The Parka

Faux fur

The straight coat

Big Printed scarfs

The flapper hat

Black open boots

White sneakers

Winged sunglasses

The tote bag

Micheal Kors Watch

With all of these life lines available, no effort fashion is just a click away. Do not let your baggy mom shirt or sweat pants shout out to the world any longer. You are a beautiful woman who deserves to dress in a way that will say: “I know I am worth it.” Use your closet to stand up, speak up and sing.

M*


bottom of page