top of page

It's all about the shoes...

When it comes to comfort I can't help to think about shoes. Sneakers, flip flops, wedges and kitten heels. It is essential for me to have comfortable shoes to feel my best everyday and therefore six inch heals and I have never been good friends.

Most of the time I plan a outfit around the type of shoes that I want to wear. Who is with me on this one? Not to mention fitting my shoes into my three colour coding rule. This means having a specific colour that is repeated in your outfit three times. It creates a harmony to your outfit that is needed for balance.

I once swore that I would never wear white shoes due to the fact that I have seem some disastrous combinations. So the unmissable trend at the moment is white sneakers. From the old favourite All stars to the revived Adidas. Blinding white to worn out chick. It's so hot right now in France. Every second person that I pass in the street has a pair of white sneakers on, because sneakers in general are just so comfortable, no wonder everybody is wearing them.

Let me give you the low down on buying the perfect pair sneakers. If you have long or short legs, thick or thin ankles, big calves or no calves. There is a pair just for you.

Long legs: You have a choice of wearing what you want or if you want to make your legs look shorter choose sneakers with a square toe.

Short legs: Platform shoes or opt for a more original look to draw less attention to your feet and also a almond shape toe.

Thick ankles: Go for lace up sneakers with a almond shape toe or platform sneakers to elongate legs.

Thin ankles: Can wear any trend of sneakers, but play it save with a thin sole sneaker or lace-ups to make your ankles look thicker.

Thin calves: Equals lace up sneakers to create the illusion of calves.

Thick calves: Choose platform sneaker to elongate your legs and to make your calves look thinner.

Big feet: Round or Square toe type of sneaker is your best friend, this makes your feet seem smaler, avoid all pointed shoes.

If you are very wary to try out this trend, don't fuss. If white shoes are not for you then choose a more natural shoe colour. The more the colour blends in with your skin colour the better. It took me three whole months of considering, because I was scared of my "flaws" instead of celebrating my best features.

This trend is certainly not for faint at heart, because it will be a focal point that can be used at your advantage or disadvantage. Choose your outfit carefully to make these shoes blend in to what you decide to wear. It's all about how to use the "focus" that you are putting on your feet. Use the rule of three and also choose the right kind of sneaker for your body. I put together a few looks with a friend of mine to give you a few looks to start off with.

The original All Stars.

Lace-ups

Platforms

Flat sole sneakers

Here are Four outfits to get you started once you've made your purchase. From casual to chick, these shoes are very versatile and comfortable too.

Casual rock

Denim/ leather chic

Complementing white

Summer sophistication

Now you can be rest assured. All trends can be applied to your closet just with a bit of a wiggle here and there and your ready to go.

M*


bottom of page