top of page

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing"- Helen Keller

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing"- Helen Keller

So I am back home, after almost two whole months of traveling...

sigh. My fingers have been itching to write about all that I have seen and done and now finally I have the time and energy to do so. 34°C has never felt so good, I can feel my toes again after the ever so cold SA winter.

So firstly I have been to Santorini with my husband for our ever delayed yet much needed honeymoon. How I dreamed of the day to see this beautiful country. Never have I ever thought that I would get the chance. We took a sunset boat cruise, walked on the active volcano, saw the incredible black beach and took on hiking towards the red beach. The endless blue waters and the addictive frappachinos could not get me away, but sadly I had to say good-bye to the enchanting Santorini sunset and greeted the not so sunny South Africa with a smile on my face.

What is better than coming home?! Even if you go from boiling hot to icy cold weather. I jumped right in to the festivities with the al so famous Wildskos festival. I ate exotic meats and drank oh so good proudly South African wine. I also went on a very enjoyable safari experience at Kumbula safaris in Boshoff. After the city rush I relaxed in the freezing Freestate at my parents home. I cozily wrapped myself under layers of blankets and ate "krummelpap".

After many red cappuccino catch ups ,biltong(dried meats) and barbeques it was time to get back home. Three weeks went by in a flash. I had so much fun with a few shoots, met new and interesting people. Like the awesome couple of Eye poetry photography that took new shots of me for my blog. I left SA with a full tummy and warm heart.

I air-bussed with my parents back to my home and I could not wait to show them where I have been living for the past two years. We arrived on my birthday with swollen eyes and hungry tummies, but was surely embraced by the mediterranean heat. My birthday was celebrated in good old summer fashion(at the beach of course). We clinked to our good fortune and the traveling days to come.

Let the traveling commence! Within three days we have seen Sault, Gordes, Nice and Monaco. After a few days of rest we trained to my sister in Geneva.

In the scorching heat we walked alongside the lake with dripping Starbucks frappes (I can't get enough of the stuff, okay!)I got to meet a new member of the family, while my mother got to play dress up(she couldn't get enough).

We took a weekend break in the beautiful Swiss alpes in a small village called, Grindelwalt. The scenery is just gorgeous and so well preserved. The endless blue lake waters is like a mirror of the untouched beauty of nature. It was unexpected and also hard to forget.

This vacation has been beyond my expectations. Many miles traveled and walked. Cultures experienced and food tasted. Thousands of photos taken of things that can not be explained until seen for themselves. So many things to be thankful for. Family, love and a home to come back to. No one can take away your memories or the time that you have spent making them. Life is the biggest adventure after all.

Take a look at what I got up to this June/July vacation.

Our flight to Greece over the Alpes

Black beach

Red beach

Sunset cruise

Oia harbour

South Africa

Weekend break at Kumbula Safaris

Europe

Gordes

Synagogues- Gordes

Monaco

Nimes

Annecy

Genevé

Interlaken

Grindelwalt

Here is some of the food we ate...

Mousaka

Breakfast in Oia

Wine tasting

Mmmm Frappe...

Fruit cup in Monaco

Wine festival food

More frappe, carrot cake and chocolate fudge

Bread selection in Greece

Lunch in Zastron, Freestate

Another favorite of mine...

Swiss dessert treats

Grilled veg, Halloumi and Tofu platter

Luch at Interlaken Lake

It can become quite tricky when packing for a vacation. Especially with two season in store. Stay posted for my post about One vacation, two seasons.

Here are a few looks I wore this vakay.

Winter wardrobe

My new photos from Eye Phoetry photography.

Till my next breakaway*

M*


bottom of page