top of page

So lekker "Hawermout" cookies and Ma Chérie jam jar !

So lekker"Hawermout" cookies and Ma Chérie jam jar.

When I visited SA my mom kept on talking about this amazing cookbook called "Low card is lekker". Since forever I have loved eating healthy and this cookbook and blog is right up my ally.

You'll be amazed about how refined sugars and "bad carbs" can be replaced with a healthier option. I just love the fact that there are other options for my favourite treats like "Milktart", Banana bread and Bobotie. Don't forget about dessert either, there are more than one to choose from. Especially the "petite gâteaux".(cookies)

Making "petite gâteaux" takes hard work. Burning pains, measuring and hours of wisking and kneading, but the end result just makes it all worth while. One of my all time favourite childhood cookies are "Hawermout" cookies, they are quite similar to oatbiscuits.

Every year my mom baked a whole lot of biscuits over the festive season for family and friends. Like Romary creams, Custard cookies, "soet koekies" and Ginger snaps. That was usually my que to binge on all the buttery deliciousness. Luckily it only happened once a year, because I was not the best baker when I was little, simply just the tester.

After many years of baking mishaps I finally got a few recipes right. Like with anything it takes practice. I do love baking and have tried and tested this recipe and I am very happy with the end result.

These delicious bars of gold are crumbly, chewy and by the way very good for you. I have replaced some of the "bad" ingredients for more energy sustainable ingredients. Like almond meal, coconut oil and peanut butter. They are protein packed and very versatile. Perfect for traveling and also any time breakfast energy bars. They will be your new best friend when you have the munchies.

So after I baked these bars and rusks I always get stuck with a pile of crumbs that I don't want to trow out. I usually dry them out in the oven for 30 min @100°C to use as muesli, but in this case I used them as my base in my Ma Chérie jam jar. (after snacking on almost on all of them). Cherry's are in season and boy are they gooood! I just had to make something with them otherwise summer's delicious treats will all go to waste!!

"Hawermout" cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup almond meal

1/4 cup flaxseed meal(grind the flaxseeds in your food processor)

3/4 cup coconut sugar or any other sugar you prefer

2 cups quick oats or coconut flour

2 tbls peanut butter

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup almond milk with 1/2 tsp of bakingsoda dissolved in it

1 ml salt

2 tbls honey

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla essence

Methord

* Preheat oven to 180°C

* Mix all the dry ingredients together.

* Add the coconut oil, honey, melted peanut butter, vanilla essence and almond milk together.

* Add extra almond milk if the consistency is too dry.

* Pour in to a parchment paper line baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown.

Ma Chérie jam jar

Ingredients

1/2 cup chopped cherries

120ml holder of greek yogurt

1 banana

1 tbsl almond butter

1/2 cup Hawermout crumbs

1 tsp coconut sugar

1 tsp lemon juice

Methord

* Place chopped cherries in a bowl with the coconut sugar and the lemon juice.

* Smash the banana and mix with the almond butter.

* Pack your layers like this - crumbs, greek yogurt,chopped cherries, crumbs,banana mix,greek yogurt.

* Lastly the cherry on top.(add honey and cinnamon if you prefer)

* Place in the fridge overnight or enjoy straight away.

* Voila!

Have a great week!

Au Revoir Mes chéris.

M*

bottom of page