top of page

“When a woman becomes her own best friend life is easier.” ― Diane Von Furstenberg

“When a woman becomes her own best friend life is easier.” ― Diane Von Furstenberg

Some info about my model...

Meet my friend, Elizta. Adrenalin junkie, extrovert, heart warming wine lover. She is open to new fun experiences. Doesn't take life too seriously and often leaves the house without make-up. Without a doubt she is gorgeous and captivating.

When I was back in SA, I jumped at the opportunity to capture this rare beaut. Our four year friendship (+/-) has gone through many deep waters. It has been a long distance kind of thing for nearly two years 12, 378.2km to be exact.

What I have learned from her is to just enjoy life and not to care too much about what others have to say. Say La vie! Life is too short to worry about things you can't change. She needs no introduction, but I just could not help myself. She should be celebrated. Just as every woman should.

A bit more about the shoot...

For the first look I went for a winged eye and dark lips. I just love this lip colour from Mac, Dark side. For the hairstyle I wanted something more free. This look is quite in at the moment. Loose top knot is an easy style to wear for a day to day look.

The second look is a bit more glam with loose curls. I opt for a nude lip with a brown and golden smokey eye. This look was a mixture of casual/semi-casual. The coat adds a bit op sophistication and works well with the lace dress and black stockings. This can be worn for work and after work drinks and dinner.

Having your photos taken is a daunting experience. A few awkward glances, silences and forces smiles. Questions like "What should I do with my hands" go through your mind. Something that you'd never think about in your day to day life. In between the not so usable shots there are moments when you are unaware and start to relax, that is where the true beauty lies. The moment when posing is not your main focus.

Being who you are without pretence. Being your own best friend and loving it.

M*

bottom of page