top of page

Mcflurry Pavlova

Mcflurry Pavlova

Entertaining can have its downside. Planning is key and if your anything like me, nothing but perfection will do. It can be quite stressful, so you've got to know your story. Do you ever feel that paging through different cookbooks makes you even more confused and you just end up making the same meals?

I find this true, especially when it comes to dessert. I can't choose just one. Caramel, chocolate, custard, fruit, ice cream? I mean come on!! It's just too though. I do understand why my mother sometimes complains that she is tired of her own cooking. After 36 years of marriage, it can get stale quite quick!

I am a "eat dessert first kind of person" But in summer it's too hot to eat something that will make you feel even more stuffy that it already is. Obviously ice cream is an easy choice, but I like to be a bit more creative than that.

Last year I attended my first French lunch ,I was amazed at how much they loved dessert even in 36°C. It was a humid and sticky summers day. The fruit custard tarts and creamy meringues were demolished within a half an hour, while my coffee cake was the wallflower in the corner. My husband was the sweetest, he just went over and took some of my dessert to make me feel better. It just made me realize again how lucky I am. Since then I have learned from my dessert mishaps. Within the first year of marriage a girl is allowed to make a few every now and again.

So usually I would consult my secret best friend, Pinterest. She always gives me so good recipes to choose from. These days I am craving Oreo's like a mad person. I always try to persuaded my husband to buy the Oreo & caramel Mcflurry. Not that it needs a whole lot of persuading.

Oh J'adore caramel. When I was little I always use to eat a caramel dipped ice cream rolled in crushed peanuts. Mmmm... So I just ran with that one.

So imagine this. Meringues, Oreo, cream and caramel. Layers of yummy, melt in your mouth, can't stop eating Pavlova. I have called it the Mcflurry Pavlova. Don't get me started on the textures of each of the layers!! Its amazing, that is all I can say! The Maizena just gives you the chewiness that is needed in this recipe. It is certainly my go to easy to make dessert. You can even substitute the cream for ice-cream, now that is a Mcflurry Pavlova for sure!!

This is my cheat meal dream.

Ingredients

6 egg whites

1 tsp of vinegar

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbs of Maizena

1 cup of brown sugar

Pinch of salt

300ml cream

1 tsp of vanilla essence

30 ml of castor sugar

1 packet of oreo's (white or black)

1 can Condensed milk

Method

  • Whisk the egg whites and add the sugar bit for bit until the egg whites has reached the soft peaks stadium.

  • Add the salt, vanilla, vinegar and Maizena and fold in with a metal spoon.

  • Meanwhile place the can of condensed milk in a pot filled with water. Let it boil over medium heat for 1-1 1/2 hours. (1 hour for semi- thickness and still light in colour)

  • Depends on how thick you want the caramel.

  • Smear butter on the baking tray that you are going to use to bake the meringues on.

  • Spoon out half the mixture on to the tray and smooth it out into a round circle. Do that with the second half of the mixture as well, so that you have two cake forms to layer with.

  • Bake for 50-60min @140°C until golden brown.

  • When it is done baking let it cool down in room temperature.

  • Place the cold cream in a bowl and start whisking add the castor sugar until the cream looks light and glossy.

  • Remove the condensed milk can from the heat and let it cool down under a tap of cold water.

  • Scoop the caramel out and let it cool down completely. Mix well.

  • Cut up the Oreo cookies.

  • Start to ensemble the layers.

  • Place the meringue as your first layer. Then add the whipped cream, Oreo and caramel.

  • Do the same with your last layer in the same order.

  • Place in fridge or serve immediately.

  • PS: There is no such thing as too much caramel.

Hope that this has got you going whooohooo! No more stressed dessert planning for your next party. Nobody likes a stressed hostess, this will make your life a whole lot easier.

M*

bottom of page