top of page

Drop and roll Protein power bites

Drop and roll Protein power bites.

I love to exercise. It's a daily routine and I cannot think my life without exercising. When I arrived in France, I noticed quite early on that the people here don't do exercise. Walking to the bakery or basically anywhere counts as part of their exercise. The gyms are small and not even close to "real" gyms in SA. The Five o'clock rush is non existent. Walking into the gym at 7 in the morning feels a bit like your walking in to a scary movie scene, but it is also refreshing not having to wait around for the treadmill.

When I arrived in France, I had to get myself occupied whilst searching for a Crossfit gym. I did Julain Micheal youtube vids, Tara Stiles Youtube vids, Gymra,Insanity, Kylaitsanes, Marathons and currently I have stopped with crossfit and I am doing aerobics and spinning classes at one of the "gyms" close to my house. It's the love of exercise, not the surroundings I guess. I remember when I went for a run one time at 1 in the afternoon I was greeted with a sigh of exasperated from an old french lady. It was clear that she was greatly disappointed. I was about to faint though...

With exercise there is the need for more protein in your diet. Where I am from carbs are the enemy for your diet, but here carbs are a main food source. Served with every meal. This is one of the places where devouring a baguette will not be frowned apon. I have to say that bread corrugates very well with the french. Like the celebrities that say they eat what they want, it's almost like that in a way. You'll never guess their secret diet trick is actually bread. (and lots of espresso)

I am for sure a protein lover(and secretly a carb lover). In SA having a BBQ was one of my most favourite things. I have tried to do the no protein thing and that certainly left room for over snacking on nuts just to make me feel full. With a hungry husband coming home from a full day of work, there has to be more than carrot sticks and nuts on the table. He asked me to make him some protein bars to sustain his energy throughout the day.

I have been hoping to make something with Nutella. Nutella is wildly popular over here. During christmas time the shopping centers are filled with the giant jars of Nutella. That is when it is time to stock up! Luckily I could incorporate Nutella in to the protein snacks for extra chocolaty deliciousness. It really made a big difference. No eggs, sugar or butter needed.

I also made Peanut butter protein bars, that can be eaten as a cake as well. Top off wit extra peanut butter or make peanut butter frosting by mixing peanut butter with Philadelphia cream cheese. I used USN protein powder which is available in France. I love protein powder for some reason. I lived on the stuff before my wedding day.

Heading the gym anytime soon? This is the best recipe to make as a pre- or post gyming snack. Happy gyming!!

Nutella Protein Power Snacks

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup oat flour

1/2 cup Nutella

3 scoops protein powder

125 g of cream cheese

1/4 cup cream cheese

Pinch of salt

Icing

1 1/2 tsp cocoa

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp of sugar

1 tsp of icing sugar

Methord:

  • Mix al the ingredients of the protein snacks together.

  • Make a round ball in the palm of your hands, press the ball flat and add 1/2 a teaspoon of cream cheese to the center. Fold the cookie around the cream cheese, without any of it sticking out. Roll into a ball again.

  • Place the protein balls on a baking tray, 2 cm apart.

  • Bake for 10 @180°C.

  • Meanwhile mix the icing ingredients together and spread out evenly on a plate or wooden board.

  • When the protein balls are finished baking, roll in the icing.

  • Place in the fridge and enjoy.

Peanutbutter Protein Sheet cake

5 scoops protein powder (I used USN chocolate flavour)

1/2 cup pbutter

1 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 cup salted cashews

2 cups oat flour (grind just normal oats in a foodprocessor)

1/4 cup pbutter for the topping

Pinch of salt

Methord:

  • Mix all the ingredients together.

  • Place in a square baking tray, lined with butter or baking paper sheets .

  • Spread on the baking tray the mixture up until 3 cm in height.

  • Bake for 20 @180°C.

  • Makes 10-12 bars

  • Decorate with extra Pbutter

  • Place in the fridge and enjoy.

Have a lovely rest of the week.

M*

bottom of page