top of page

Strawberry fudge dream

Strawberry fudge dream

I have discovered fudge once again... I am a caramel freak, so fudge is right up my ally. I remember back in primary school that I loved buying some "snoopie" goodies (a.k.a tuck shop)like fudge. It was a daily ritual. There were usually four little blocks knotted in a little plastic bag. No way were they taken out of the bag just like that! They were mushed together until a fudgy paste formed. Almost like fudge frosting...Kids know not to sweat the small stuff alright!

One of the ends where usually bitten off and afterward it was fudge heaven and uncontrollable sugar high. One of my biggest worries back then was, how am I going to get more...Other delicious treats like "vetkoek" and mince, popcorn balls, cotton candy, chocolate sticks (that kinda where little straws filled with Nutella), big sour lollipops filled with chewing gum and oh last but not least meat pies were sold.

One of my very good friends back then supplied the fudge. I must confess...I, Mariza, was a sugar addict, or maybe I was just part of the adolescent majority.In high school there were more salty snacks as far as I can remembered. Oily French toast with aromatic, french fries, burgers, chips etc. We ate to out hearts content in every break and especially when there was inter-schools. There was nothing better than a cold ice sugary drink after a long hockey match and bring on the oily french toast too ppl. Now in the adult world these "treats" are eaten in moderation, because obviously we are not as active like back in the old days.

It's a sad fact...but I am getting older! Don't those days seem just like yesterday though? Playing till the sun goes down, laughing with your friends. Having basically no care in the world. We connect those memories with food, smells and seasons. Time just seems to pass you by. Now you get caught up in the daily ritual of going to work, stressing, bills, kids etc. Being an adult is hard work! Let me tell you... this fudge will transport you back. A Sugar high will hit you right in the face, but you won't want to stop because it is just too good! There is dark chocolate if that will make you feel better. There is also a crunchy salty crust, layered with fudge, dark chocolate and then my friends the strawberries that will bring a freshness. It's a strawberry f​udge dream for sure...Move on over I want to be a kid again!

If your a mom, your kids will love you for this recipe, this I guarantee!

Ingredients

1 can of condensed milk

3 cups sugar

1 tsp caramel extract

1 dark chocolate bar

1/2 cup of Speculoos paste or Nutella

2-3 cups of crushed cookies(I used Speculoos, whispers and BNBN cookies)

1/2 cup butter

1 1/2 cup halved strawberries

salt

Method

1. Heat up the condensed milk, caramel essence and the three cups of sugar in a microwavable mixing bowl for fifteen minutes.

2. Remove every few minutes so it does not boil over. (Be aware that this is fudge so you will burn if you are not careful, for all the kiddies out there.)

3. Whilst the fudge is cooking, break the biscuits in to crumbs and mix with the melted butter. Press in to a tray and place in the fridge

4. When is my fudge ready: The sugar has to be semi-dissolved , the fudge has to stick to the wooden spoon and set quite quickly.

5. When the fudge is ready pour the fudge over the cookie layer and place in the fridge once again.

6. Then melt the chocolate over low heat in the microwave and mix with your Speculoos paste.

7. Pour over the fudge layer and decorate with strawberries. Sprinkle over salt if you like.

Have a worry-less and spontaneous weekend!

À bientôt

M*

bottom of page