top of page

Vive la France & Jambon rose salad

Vive la france

Yesterday, two weeks ago, a lot has changed. When you live thousands of kilometers away it all seems fine, but when you are in the mists you perspective changes for sure. My mom even said to come home right away, but what would that solve? Every country and culture has their own load of baggage to drag around. For me this dilemma has created fear, fear to go and do the normal. It hits home right there where you least expected it. Make every second count.

We went for a movie last week thursday, without even thinking about how the temperament was going to be. We entered with cation with security guards checking whether we had any weapons with us. I was a tad scared, I won't lie. I was looking around in the cinema non stop. I can't really remember what happend in the new Hunger games movie so well...

The atmosphere in town was and is so intensely sad. People where sitting around the fountain in the city center. It looked as if though they where crying and praying. The memorial messages, flowers and statues are still there two weeks later. Faces of people you have never seen. You can't let fear keep you from living your life, otherwise what is the use of a life anyway? My heart goes out to the families who lost loved ones.

Peace begins with a smile.

Mother Theresa

On another note...

These last two weeks I have had a few recipe failures that will def not make it on to my recipe list. I am trying out to share more of my lunch and dinner recipes. I do like a good old dessert, but favour eating healthy in the week. The recipes (except the green smoothie) had been hubby approved, so dig right in!

I have never really been a big Jambon fan, but I have found a new found liking for this Spanish dried ham. It is very popular as an entreé with other dried meats and Foie gras paté. It's also eaten in a salads paired with sundried tomatoes and mozzarella. I combined my Jambon with mozzarella balls and a fig balsamic salad dressing and dukkah. This salad will go great with a fresh bauqette and a glass of red wine.

Jambon Seranno

Jambon Fig salad

Jambon roses, fig and dukkah salad

Dukkha

1 cup mixed roasted nuts

1 tsp pepper corns

1 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp fennel

1/2 tsp cumin

1 tbls brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1. Place all these ingredients in a food processor and blend till fine.

Salad

3-4 jambon tranches

1/2 cup mozzarella

2-3 cups of salad leaves

1/2 cup fig jam

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

1. Start with the first layer of salad leaves.

2. Roll the Jambon Trances in to roses and decorate the mozzarella around.

3. Then drizzle over the fig salad sauce and sprinkle over the dukkah.

4. Serve with fresh crusty bread and olive oil and balsamic to dip it in.

Hope you have a blessed weekend!

The chirstmas markets are coming very soon and I can't wait to share what they are sellingxx

Christmas is still something to celebrate!

M*

bottom of page