top of page

Galette de Rois fraise & Nutella, Spanish hot chocolate and my first Afr-ish post.

Galette de Rois fraise & Nutella, Spanish hot chocolate and my first Afr-ish post.

Unfortunately, I have gotten the flu from this past weekend, but it was well worth it because I got to ski again!! It has been a long and hard journey. Skiing did not come very natural to me, especially since I am a teensy bit afraid of heights. I didn't realise that fact up until I got on to the slopes for the first time. Growing up in a small town kind of reassured me that I would never have had to face my fears of heights. It is actually crazy to think that you are supposed to learn such a physical activity so late in life. You certainly get reminded by the three-year-olds skiing past you with flying colours. What seemed adorable turns in to a mockery!

Na baie ure van sukkel het die agter os ook in die kraal gekom... Ek het gelag, gehuil en so biekie geskree. My arme man, hy is darm geseën met baie geduld! Ek kan nou met meer sekerheid sê dat ek wel kan ski. Ek was al meer as een keer naby aan 'n paar gevraarlike randjies en het dalk my stuitjie al vermoedelik gekneus, maar ja ek is op en kan nou meer as net "slangetjies" maak. Dieselfde is ongelukkig nie te sê vir my leer vermoë as dit by fraans kom nie. Stryk, ski, kook, bak en stofsuig het ek min of meer al onder die knieg . Dis als te danke aan vier jaar se studies van verbruikerswetenskap, wat ek nou op die proef sit.

We spend the weekend in El tarter with friends of ours in an awesome air BNB cottage. The slopes where about 50m away and after you're skiing session you can go for a drink at the "slope bar" that is situated just at the bottom of the slopes. Some bars are right in the middle of the slopes before you take the last stretch home, it looks a lot like a night club. Everybody dressed in ski gear in between mountains...talk about drinking and driving. Arrival was quite late on friday evening and we where ravenous in search for dinner. There is a great sushi shop in El tarter that serves delicious sushi and such funny little kebabs and chicken pockets. Afterwards I had a cosmopolitain and a taste of one of the best mojito's in town. It was a culture shock once again, just when I thought I got this whole french thing down. Crossing a boarder is whole new story. It's funny to see the differences between the french and the spanish/Catalonians. Two different cultures I promise you!

So the volgende oggend staan ek en my man vroeg op om die dorpie te verken. Dis al 'n tipe van 'n ritueel wat ek al aan geleer het. Mens werk mos aan jou swak punte, of hoe? Hoe kan jy reël of besluite maak as die omgewing onbekend is. Die slopes was redelik naby, maar soos ons gehoor het by een van die kelnerinne by die sushi winkel is die slopes by ons nie goed nie. Nou vir 'n huis vol "eerste" skiiers om op ys te leer ski in plaas van sneeu kan biekie van 'n nagmerrie en 'n half wees! Na brunch trap ons petrol om die slopes te gaan verken. Grandvalira is die berg se naam en die "newbies" het 'n keel opgesit.

It was a far ride with the ski lifts to the slopes and the snow did not look very promising on the way there, but when we got the slopes all my doubts disappeared. After skiing for a couple of hours we had an afternoon break and some had the spanish hot chocolate and the not so shabby burgers . Now there are a few places for me where the food can be a bit suspect like airplanes, airports, hospitals and ski slopes. I've only tasted the hot chocolate later in Andorra La ville and I loved it. It's like drinking chocolate mouse! So I had to make it for you guys, mine is a bit more healthy than the traditional. You can add dark chocolate and full cream milk instead of almond milk.

Voor ek vergeet moet ek eers die storie vertel:

My eerste ski ondervinding is een wat ek nooit sal vergeet nie. Ek is op die ski hange in 'n jean, los hare en 'n materiaal baaidjie. Jy kon duidelik sien dat "ons is nie van hier nie". My man het my probeer help deur om my op die "beginners" hange te begin leer maar vir my het dit verseker meer soos die gevorderde hange gelyk. Ek het so biekie af geski en toe besef ek dat ek geen benul het om te stop nie. Dis nie 'n goeie plek om in te wees nie. Na 'n ordenklike vloermoer het ek die res van die oggend skuins af gesukkel-sukkel en doodeenvoudig geweier om weer op te gaan. Ek het wel tussen al die drie jariges rond geski waar die sneeu biekie meer eweredig was. Praat van 'n verleentheid, maar nie te min lag ek elke keer as ek daaraan dink.

So after our skiing we spended a cosy night in. Sunday we headed over to Andorra La ville for a bit of shopping. The mains street is quite easy to find, just follow the massive amounts of people and park in one of the many car parks. Andorra can be dangerous for your budget. You pay 35 euros for a half day on the slopes and then there is the renting of ski clothes (if you don't have any.)...$$$...

Wel as I explained in my new years post, Galette de Rois is the actual traditional New years cake. There are two types that can be bought or made. One out of puff pastry and frangipane filling (flavored almonds)and the other one that is bread like called a brioche. I went for lunch at one of my friends houses that have been living in France for ten years now. She explained that the traditions surrounding this cake is very fun and unconventional. The youngest child goes and sits under the table and decides who gets what slice. Now in the slices are "fèves" a.k.a trinkets that can be a paper crown. Whoever gets that crown is king for the day and is obligated to buy the next cake. This cake is everywhere now and well is easy so I made that for you as well. Give it a try, you might end up king for the day!

Galette de Rois fraise & Nutella

1 sheet of puff pastry

1 tsp butter

1 tbsp Nutella

1 strawberry sliced

Extra strawberries for decoration

1. Cut out two same size circles that you would like with a cup or cookie cutter, make motives with a knife on top of the top pastry circle.

2. Melt the butter in the microwave.

3. Smear the Nutella on the bottom puff pastry circle, place on the strawberry slices. (Place a fève on the inside for one of your guests to find.)

4. Smear the edges with the melted butter.

5. Cover with the other puff pastry circle and press flat with a fork on the edges.

6. Brush over some extra butter on top.

7. Bake for 15 min @180°C.

8. Serve hot out of the oven .

9. Makes 1 small galette.

Spanish hot chocolate

1 cup almond milk

1 tbsp cocoa

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tbsp honey or 1 tsp stevia

1. Heat up the almond milk in the microwave for two minutes.

2. Make a paste with the corn starch and add the cocoa powder and extra almond milk.

3. When the milk is hot, whisk in the paste and the sugar.

4. Microwave for another 2 minutes and whisk afterwards.

5. Serve with a straw and a sliced strawberry as decoration.

Let me kow what your thoughts are about my Afr-ish post. I will be doing a few more posts in Afrikaans.

Have a wonderful weekend*

M*

bottom of page