top of page

27 Mustache bash

I planned to have just a few people over after church and needless to say it was a bit more work than I thought. I have been planning to have this Mustache bash for a while now and the guest of honor deserved every bit of detail I put into it. It is easy buying everything at the store and certainly very convenient (that went thought my mind a few times halfway through) ,but I like a good challenge. I always feel that I can get my rest and sanity back a bit later. Once I get into the groove of baking or being creative really, I don't stop for anything. Thanks to my Nespresso for keeping me going otherwise I would not have made it.

I went back to my roots by making marmite tarts, in o cake pops, mini milk tarts and biltong muffins. A Bit of a modern twist if you will! I remember these goodies as an after church treat. How I love the textures of savory and sweet mixed in one bite. Thanks to those days I have my tastebuds fully developed! Those kinds of dished are a taste of home. A great example is the apple cider and bacon bits donuts I made. You can taste that actual effort was put into this one bite treat!

I have really been in a school of my own these last two and a half years. I have been exploring the boundaries of cooking and other aspects. Lately, I have been making more vegan cakes and it's so fun! I have always loved eating healthy and it's just so inspiring to actually putting it in to practice!( none of that for the party though, my hubby likes real ice cream, no banana nice cream will do the trick!) Hopefully I'll be able to apply my knowledge with the type of job I'll have one day... one that explores all this creative energy and drives to create. I have learned to just be true to who you are and man oh man, you'll reach mountains!

Now DIY wise I hopped over to Pinterest and wanted to do something manly, coz any other way would have been a bit awkward. Now with my husband having his birthday every year I figured why not make the theme this year a bit more fun...I celebrated a mustache just this one time, because it was his birthday. This party was my white flag to facial hair!

Voila!! I was greeted by so many baby shower ideas...(don't tell my husband heeheee) So I thought why not, it's cute, manly and versatile. I made a few pop ups cards here and there that I placed around the table as you can see in the pics

I especially love the one pop up that says : Real men eat cupcakes...

I used old Mustache material as a table runner. I made a 27 year pin board out of paper pins and some string. I place some flowers as a feminine touch for the lady guests (I found proteas...I love them)!

Now after cooking there is the cleanup...Everything should be easy afterward you host such a bash. Now that means that mostly everything can and should be able to be thrown away. I made the runner out of brown paper, served out of plastic plates & plastic canapé forms and wooden cutlery. There were plastic paper cups for the coffee/drink area. Clean up was a dream for my ever so sore feet and back, mostly no dishes and the birthday boy helped to clean the floors. His actual birthday was two days later so I didn't feel too bad!!

This pre-party rocket, it's so easy to do once you know what your game plan is. I used to dread having people over, but going DIY and one bite snack table is the way to go for me. I am sold! You'll make it look super easy throwing your better half a party he deserves... Mustache tell you the truth!

Here is the basic food prepping and products...

I used this instead of corn flour for the mini corn dogs.

Ice cream cake ingredients

Coffee and hotchocolate station

Protea!

My nespresso...je l'aime

Some DIY deco

Now for the food...click on the headings to go to the recipes.

Puff pastry, jambon and cheddar sticks.

All you need is a sheet of puffpastry, jambon (other ham), cheddar cheese and chutney. Smear with the chutney, layer the jambon and cheese. Slice in to strips and twist. Sprinkle over some extra cheddar, salt, pepper and olive oil.

Grapes and cheese bites

BBQ meatballs

Taco cups

Just buy some nachos chips, salsa and cheese. Place in little paper cups and serve!

Mini milktarts

The full display

Hommade ice cream cones

Phew, now that was a lot to take in!

Have a good week!! It's my last week of French class and will be taking a petite break before starting again! Keep a look out for some yummy main meals coming your way!

M*

bottom of page