top of page

Boeuf Bourguignon pie with Chickpea crust

I seem to write a lot about time and for some reason that's just stuck with me.

So this week I am kind of reminiscing about all the things I could have would have done. Right now there are so many challenges in the world that you kind of get intimidated. I want to do so much more and at the end of the day I did accomplish a few of my to do , but then I might have been impatient with someone or ignoring someone's need. When you do your to do list do you stop and think to smell the roses every once in a while? Because time is so limited? I do seem to contradict myself a few times within my blog posts, but these are questions I do ask myself (and answer them again within my posts, so forgive me:)

When it comes to dreaming.

I have a lot of dreams and I dare say that I have dulled them a little for the brutal fact that dreams don't always come true. I am more of a realist at this moment. I have been discouraged and disappointed quite a few times, but I do believe that when you tap in to what really makes you happy you will be able to achieve your goals. It's scary, but at the same time exhilarating!

I have had a bit of anxiety with starting this blog, because I have had a few discouraging comments and moments in the past. People don't want you to see succeed or do something they could not have the guts to do. So they criticize, but if it weren't for the critique I probably would not have taken the courage to say "You know what, I'm gonna do it anyway!". English is not my fist language so there are going to be a few misspellings here and there, but I am gonna do it anyway. Just like my disastrous french lessons(where I sound like an idiot sometimes) I am gonna do it anyway!

If I make a few mistakes every now and again, that's fine, its part of the process! As long as I am moving forward, learning new things and deciding what kind of person I would like to be.

My blog is not just a food, travel, DIY, lifestyle blog, but every bit of you too. I want to know what you think and what your passions are in life. Some of you are moms and wives. Your lives are important, your experiences count. I want my life to be a testimony.

Yesterday was such a busy day. My body and head ached when I got to bed. I gave a cooking lesson to some of the house wives living here. It was fun explaining what to do, chatting the time away and actually sharing my passion for cooking with them. I know my recipes can be a bit unconventional, but I love to add a twist to the modern take on "normal" recipes.

This recipe of today is a good example, I think I might have gone a bit too far with this one, because it's the traditional Boeuf bourguignon with a healthy twist. I think my french readers will have a heart attack, because these recipes might seem a bit bizarre...

It is still super delicious! VRAIMENT!

Boeuf Bourguignon Pie with Chickpea crust

Ingredients:

500g brisket meat cut in to cubes

1/2 cup corn flour

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp brown onion soup

1/2 red onion

2 crushed garlic cloves

Salt and pepper

1 tsp Thyme

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp dried parsley

1 Bay leave

1/2 cup dry Red wine (preferably Pinoir or Merlot)

1/2 cup beef stock

1 cup mini carrots

1 cup sliced brown mushrooms

Crust:

1 cup chickpea flour

1/2-3/4 cup water

1 tsp baking powder

Salt and pepper

Pinch of thyme

1 tbsp Olive oil

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180°C. Roll the meat in the cornflower till fully covered and set aside.

2. Start frying the garlic and the onion till translucent add in the spices.

3. Let it simmer for a few minutes and add the meat and start frying till browned and crispy.

4. Once the meat has browned, add the beef stock, wine and brown onion soup powder.

5. Add the carrots and mushrooms and turn the heat down to low.

6. Mix together the chickpea flower ingredients. This should look like pancake batter, so add more flour or water to get the right consistency.

7. Pour your meat in to you're baking dish, remove the bay leave and then pour over the pie batter and add more salt, thyme and olive oil to the crust.

8. Bake for 20 minutes till golden brown. PS: You can add some light cheddar cheese on to the crust the last five minutes of baking.

9.

Parsnip chips

Ingredients:

Four medium parsnips sliced in to strips

2 tbsp olive oil

Garlic salt

Avocado

salt and pepper

Lemon juice

Curried cashews

Pomegranate seeds

Method:

1. Place the parsnip chips on a baking tray and drizzle over the olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic salt.

2. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes @180°C.

3. Smash the avocado and add the lemon juice, extra olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.

4.Remove from the oven when crispy and decorate with the avocado, cashews and pomegranate seeds.

bottom of page