top of page

Mint & Lemon Cashew ice cream and vegan apple pie...

I got you at cashew ice cream didn't I...

Cold weather is still lurking around with my summer closet staring me blank in the face every morning. I already changed up my closet and I have a burning desire to actually wear something... If I have to pull another jersey over my face I am going to scream. Thinking that I have an Image consulting a styling background I would know what to do, but boy I feel like I haven't been so clueless in a longtime! Don't you just want "things" to happen right away? Instasummer, Instahealthy, Instastylish, Instaironing...there are so many things. I mean with every season you get to enjoy the good, bad and the ugly and then the ugly get's a bit unbearable! Like your outworn jeans that seem to look like a boyfriend jean after a while.

I have been a bit preoccupied with"life" and therefore I feel a bit blegh with not a lot of inspiration. These "not summer yet" days are downing on my insporation yall! (Sorry I have been doing insanity and there for the slang thanks to Shaun-T ) So I need to get out of this house after having a stomach bug last week and series binging for I don't know how many days...Its time to get some sunshine on this blinding white skin of mine. Not the twilight kind of bling! The funny thing with blogging is to keep with the trend and kind off still feel your own trend going on. That's why I love to go strolling through town just to get a feel of what's in and what, how I want to describe what I want you guys to see and read? You feel me. Okay I am going to stop now...

I think I have pinned all Half-baked harvests pins and exhausted pinterests food feed...I just love her blog!! So amazing! I am getting in to baking more seasonally and this week I have found Rhubarb! I have never made anything with Rhubarb before. Firstly because it's a vegetable that strangely looks like pink celery and I hate celery... So it has taken me a while to warm up to the idea of rhubarb. I just love saying rhubarb! Will be sharing a recipe soon.

Talking about seasonal. I have also made a blood orange breakfast smoothie that you just have to try...check out in my breakfast feed. Now I know "vegan" is the new trend and it is quite hot and happening. I do love vegan food and living healthy and lately I have been making quite a few vegan cakes. I know what you thinking a cake without sugar, eggs, butter and milk can't be any good right? Well, I just have to correct you with that one! It's absolutely delicious and my husband that my official tester said it taste like normal cake! Whoooa...There you go right out of the mouth of the official Life in the south cake tester. You have to believe me now or just make it for your self and find out...

Super crumbly and delicious apple pie with a rich cream cashew ice cream to compliment it!

Apple pie

Ingredients:

Filling:

Two apples sliced and cored

5 dates

2 mashed bananas

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

5ml vanilla essence

pinch of salt

Base and crumbs:

200 ml almond milk

2 cups shredded coconut

1 cup almond meal

1/3 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup honey or coconut sugar

1 tbsp coconut oil

pinch of salt

Method

1. Place the sliced apples in a bowl. Microwave the dates for a minute with a little bit of water will soft and mash, mix with the peanut butter.

2. Add one mashed banana and mix into the apples, add the raisins, salt, cinnamon and vanilla essence. Leave aside for a bit.

3. Mash the last banana and add the coconut, almond meal, almond milk , coconut oil, honey/sugar, pinch of salt and peanut butter. 4. Mix well till a crumb like texture forms.

Scoop half of the mixture on to a cake tin and press flat for the base of the cake. Add the apple mixture and press flat and lastly adding the last bit of the banana crumble.

5. Just crumble that layer on and don't press flat.

6. Let it bake for 20-25 minutes @180°C.

Serve with cashew ice cream!

Mint and Lemon Cashew Ice cream

2 cups of cashew

1/2 cup almond milk

1 can of chilled coconut cream (1-2 nights in the fridge)

1/2 cup honey or coconut sugar

pinch of salt

5ml vanilla essence

5 big mint leaves or mint extract

1 lemon

1. Soak the cashews overnight in water and then place in a blender the next day with a bit of almond milk. Blend till smooth. Add a pinch of salt, half of the sugar, mint leaves, juice and the grind of the lemon. (leave a bit of the lemon grind for decoration)

2. Whip up the coconut cream in a chilled bowl until stiff. Add the rest of the sugar or honey, vanilla essence and the pinch of salt.

3. Fold in the cashews in to the coconut cream and scoop in to a bread tin lined with parchment paper. Place in the fridge and whip every 30 minutes till it has an ice cream like texture.

Serve with warm apple pie!

If you're looking for me I'll be home eating this in my boyfriend jeans...

Have a awesome weekend! I have to finish a few DIY products to share with you guys real soon!

M*

bottom of page