top of page

Sweet potato Rosti à la Française

Sweet potato rosti à la Française

Vandag is my laaste dag van fraanse klasdraf... Dis so te sê meer as twee jaar wat ek al my taal vernuf begin verskerp het. Toe ons in Frankryk aan gekom het was my kennis absoluut nul op 'n kontrak gewees en vandag kry ek my B1 sertifikaat en skryf my A2 examen oor 2 weke. Som doen dit sommer lag lag maar ek moet bieg dat ek heelwat trots is op myself! Dis soos 'n maalpyl wat ek bereik het en nou kan ek net verder op die fondasie werk. Die vloere is gegooi en nou kan die huis behoorlik mure opsit en verder verfyn word.

Like I said I am finishing with my french classes and now I get to start planning, because we are moving...After two and half years I have to say goodbye to Montpellier. It has taken me a while to let it all sink in and I think I have been bit of a dreadful mess lately, hahah! But luckily we get to stay in the south of France non the less. Now it's house searching, packing arrangements and also planning our vacation to Portugal. Gimme a house with a big porch, fireplace and enough room to cook up a storm. Guess you'll never truly find what you are looking for especially since some of the houses here don't even have a proper kitchen. Cooking is not a priority for all, but not in this household!

This soos mens altyd sê geniet dit terwyl jy kan want voor jy weet is jou tyd om of in 'n oogwink kan goed verander. Dis die reine waarheid. My man met sy hope wysheid laat my weereens besef dat ek teveel beplan vir more en vergeet om die hier en nou te geniet. Als kan verander in enkele sekondes. Nou dat ons gaan trek wil ons soveel as moontlik strand toe gaan en geleenthede bywooon. Dis snaaks. Ons weet dat ons tyd hier beperk is en terselletyd moet ons onsself gereed maak vir die volgende stap. Hoe geniet mens die hier en nou en hou op dink aan more se doen en late? Hoe sê mens vaarwel aan twee en 'n half jaar se lewe, memories en vriende? Dis als deel van die lewe. Soveel dinge wat nie konstand is nie en tog is dit ook oraait op die oueinde van die dag ,want als is tog tydelik.

Saying goodbye is going to be hard. Moving to another city, meeting new friends and receiving other opportunities. I certainly have learned a few things since living in Montpellier. It has treated me kindly! Like to eat bread with basically every meal and then to use it to clean out your plate, drinking coffee right at the end of the meal as a course, the mantra of one glass of wine in the middle of the day won't kill you and my favourite you can have chocolate if you feel like it even if it is for breakfast. A chocolate croissant does classify as breakfast over here s, I'll take it thank you very much! Take it easy, life is supposed to be enjoyed!

Being sentimental is okay, that means that what you have experienced has truly meant something to you. The good and the bad was every second worth it. So funny how you start to make new friends right before you leave. I don't understand that ,that thing happens when things actually fall in to place for the future and your kind of seeing the people around you that has been there all along.

Nou ek is nogals bly dat ek met die fraanse klas storie biekie brieke aandraai. Klasdraf en huisvrou loop somtyds nie so mooi saam nie. Oh liewe, siesta jy was deesdae my beste vriend gewees. Hier is soveel stellings vir 'n "cause" of "consequence". Dis vergaan my verstand tebowwe vir hoekom daar meer as een stelling moet wees vir hoekom goed gebeur het, soos dit gebeur het. Filosofie is nie in te kort koming hier nie.

Now being so busy lately, I haven't really had much time to make a proper meal that takes some planning, but opted for easy dinners and lunches. When I went skiing with my sis in the swiss alpes I saw in the super markets these strange prepackaged rosti thingy's. The swiss likes to pre-package a few things like cooked eggs that look like easter eggs, but are in fact not. I only realised that when I arrived home...We know rosti's as hash browns back home, but I guess this oversized grated potato cookie is on another level. This swiss dish is usually eaten for breakfast, well in this case dinner...or dessert whatever tickles your fancy!

This crispy, sweet and super filling rosti is perfects when you're not in the mood to make one of the old favourites. It took me 20 minutes to make it in total.

Ingredients

1/2 cup grated sweet potato

1 egg

1 tbsp almond meal or breadcrumbs

Salt and pepper

Coriander

Cumin

Oregano

1 egg

2 strips of Jambon

Balsamic roasted tomatoes in the oven or over the stove

Soft cheese ( I bought this yum nutty flavour soft cheese at Carrefour)

Basil pesto

1 cup fresh basil leaves

1/3 cup pine nuts

2 1/2 tbsp parmesan

1 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper

1/3 cup olive oil

1. Place grated sweet potato in a bowl, add the egg, almond meal and spices.

2. Press the cookie in to a giant cookie shape and place on a parchment lined baking tray for the oven or in a hot plan to fry it up.

3. Fry till the one side is browned and then place a plate on top and then flip it over and place the rosti on the other side. you can fry your tomatoes on the side with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and salt & pepper.

4. Decorate with you soft cheese, Jambon , crispy cooked egg, balsamic roasted tomatoes and Basil pesto!

Bon weekend**

M*

bottom of page