top of page

Pretty in Pink...Radishes!

Pretty in pink...Radishes!

How hard is it to slow things down when time is not on your side? Every day just seems to fly past and for some reason you have so much to do! You want to make things count in the limited time that you have...Right all the wrongs and leave with a clean and satisfied plate. I have been experiencing this for this last week. Before we have to move there is quite a few things to sort out. So many last memories that I want to jam in to these last three to four weeks. Every last bit of coffee dates, barbecues and beach visits as possible.

Hopefully I'll be heading back to SA which a tan, doubtably... Even though I will be covering up, I want to have some proof of summer, even though summer has made no appearance just yet); My last days of this beautiful city will have to be good ones!

I have had such a fun shoot with one of my friends yesterday. It was my first lifestyle shoot ever!! I do dream to be more accurate with how and where to do these shoots, but I guess some of the most beautiful pictures in life are unplanned. To be versatile, thats the key!

I also wrote my A2 french exam this week... Hopefully a full exemption! Then I can really say that I do speak a little bit of french, I got the papers to prove it. Still to go B1, B2, C1 and C2. Eeek no, Luckily I only need B1... The hardest part for me was the talking to complete strangers. Explaining who you are, what you like, where you're from. That just makes me so uncomfortable. I feel so judged!Hahah! Naturally my husband found this part the best, but I was dripping with sweat and found myself babbling uncontrollably. I can't actually really remember how it went.

With no summer in the sky, there is still the summer goodies. I have been buying the most amazing produce and have been having the most deliciously fresh salads while it is raining and very windy outside. Cherries, watermelon and apricots have been making an appearance... apricot jam, cherry pie or watermelon, mint & feta salad!! Which do you prefer?

Radishes... are such a peppery and fresh vegetable. I never used to like radishes, but I had this amazing idea to mix radishes with full grain mustard, oven baked chicken and crispy chickpeas. Their colour is just so beautiful. Hand painted by God! That's why this weeks post is Pretty in pink. This dish is so pretty, prettily dressed in pink radishes!

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts

4 cups salad leaves

1/2 cup sliced radishes

1/2 cup sliced carrots

1 cup chickpeas

1/3 cup hummus

1/3 cup honey

1 tbsp full grain mustard

1/2 dried Garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

1. Rubb the chicken and chickpeas with the olive oil, salt, garlic and pepper.

2. Mix together the mustard and half of the honey.

3. Drizzle this on the chicken and chickpeas as well and bake the chicken breasts with the chickpeas for 15 minutes @180°.

4. Place the salad leaves, radishes and sliced carrots in a bowl. 5. Mix together the hummus, honey and lemon juice. Add 1 tsp of mustard if you like.

6. Remove the chicken and chickpeas fron the oven. Slice the chicken in to strips.

7. Place on the salad leaves, drizzle over the salad dressing and mix together.

8. Serve with crusty Ciabatta bread and some dry Rose wine.

Bon Weekend!

M*

bottom of page