top of page

DIY Fimo Jewellery

DIY FIMO Jewellery

When time is available at your disposal and you want to test out your creative jewellery making skills then this post is for you!

I have had a few hours alone to myself and being completely bored out of my mind, I browsed through Pinterest and stumbled apon FIMO beads. I have always thought that it is a kind of plastic clay that looks and feels quite fake, but my mind was surely changed once I started to make some FIMO creations of my own.

I love porcelain clay, but it is a somewhat speciality clay that I don't have the luxury to accommodate these days, but FIMO does a good job just as well and I have been pleasantly surprised by the results. It's so easy, you roll it, form it, make a loop hole and then bake it. From there you can start creating some beautiful necklaces, earrings or bracelets.

Here is a step by step tutorial on how to make FIMO beads for that necklace that you so cautiously created yourself.

TIPS:

1. Work on a clean working area.

2. Your hands should be washed and clean.

3. Wash your hands in between the use of different colours.

4. You can use a toothpick to create different patterns on your beads.

5. Place your beads on a baking tray once you have finished forming them.

6. You can make use of paint and the varnish once the beads have finished baking and have cooled down.

7. Have fun!!

Lay out the colour scheme that you want to go for.

Slice of a piece with a knife or FIMO cutting material and start to roll that piece in to a ball.

Press the bead flat on the sides to create a more oval like form. I prefer this kind of bead above normal round beads.

Place the toothpick right in the center and twist to creat a loop hole.

Place your beads on a baking tray and bake for 30 minutes at 110°C. Once finished baking remove and then let them cool down before adding the paint and varnish. (optional)

Use beading string to string up the beads in to a necklace or bracelet.

Use crimpers and lobster claws to attach your necklace.

The results:

Pretty easy right?

If you don't have accessibility to buying FIMO beads. Buy online from the UK through Perles & CO. Also for special jewellery orders head on over to Atelier Sud on Facebook.

Have a super creative weekend!!

M*

bottom of page